2013 Be the Influence AFL Players' MVP nominees

2013 Be the Influence AFL Players' MVP nominees

Reading Time: 4 minutes

With the home and away season behind us, nominations have been finalised for the 2013 Be the Influence AFL Players’ MVP Awards.

The winner of the AFL industry’s foremost peer-determined award, the Leigh Matthews Trophy proudly presented by Be the Influence, will be announced on Tuesday September 10 at Peninsula, Docklands in Melbourne.

This year’s list of nominees contains superstars at the top of their game including Gary Ablett Jnr who will be vying for the title for a record fifth time, as well as Scott Pendlebury, Jarryd Roughead, Joel Selwood and Patrick Dangerfield, along with a host of newcomers including Jake Carlisle and Daniel Hannebery.

The AFL Players’ MVP remains the only football award decided by those who know the game best – the players.

Now in its 31st year, the award is more important than ever, according to AFL Players’ CEO Matt Finnis.

“Amongst all of the various awards and accolades provided to players at this time of year; it’s really important the players themselves have a voice.”

“In any industry, you want the respect of your peers. AFL footballers are no different, and the Leigh Matthews Trophy is a great way players can recognise the efforts of those outside their own club.”

AFL Players’ Association President Luke Ball said that while the award continues to grow in stature publicly, it has always been considered one of the highest honours in the game amongst the playing group because it reflects the respect a player has amongst his peers.

“As a player you strive for the respect of your peers, and unlike other awards the MVP is determined by the men who take to the field alongside you each week,” said Ball.

“Players get to see what occurs behind the scenes. From long nights on the track, to game day and the strategic work put into stopping an opposition player, so we are very well positioned to judge the Most Valuable Player in the league.

“The names that feature on the Leigh Matthews’ Trophy represent the very elite of the past 30 years, so to have your name etched alongside players you have grown up idolising would be an incredible honour for any player.”

Other awards presented on the night include:

The Robert Rose Most Courageous Award, presented by Fire Ready Victoria

Best First Year Player, presented by Be the Influence

Best Captain, presented by L’Oreal Men Expert

Education and Training Excellence Award, presented by La Trobe Sport

Grant Hattam Trophy for Excellence in Sports Journalism, presented by Kelly Hazell Quill Lawyers


The MVP voting is a two stage process, beginning with each player voting for the three teammates he considers to have been the most valuable this season.  Each club’ votes are then tallied to form a nomination list comprising 54 players across the 18 teams.

Then, in the second round of voting, all AFL players vote for their MVP on a 3, 2, 1 basis from amongst the nominees from all 17 other clubs. The votes are tallied, and the player with the highest score wins the honour of MVP.

The 2013 Be The Influence AFL Players’ MVP Award Winners will be announced on Tuesday 10 September at Peninsula, Shed 14 Central Pier, Docklands and will be broadcast exclusively on Fox Footy Channel at 9.30pm.

Leigh Matthews Trophy nominees, proudly presented by Be the Influence

Adelaide – DANGERFIELD Patrick
Adelaide – DOUGLAS Richard
Adelaide – SLOANE Rory
Brisbane – HANLEY Pearce
Brisbane – LEUENBERGER Matthew
Brisbane – REDDEN Jack
Carlton – HENDERSON Lachie
Carlton – JUDD Chris
Carlton – SIMPSON Kade
Collingwood – PENDLEBURY Scott
Collingwood – SIDEBOTTOM Steele
Collingwood – SWAN Dane
Essendon – CARLISLE Jack
Essendon – HEPPELL Dyson
Essendon – WATSON Jobe
Fremantle – CROWLEY Ryan
Fremantle – FYFE Nathan
Fremantle – JOHNSON Michael
Geelong – ENRIGHT Corey
Geelong – SELWOOD Joel
Geelong – TAYLOR Harry
Gold Coast – ABLETT JNR Gary
Gold Coast – O’MEARA Jaeger
Gold Coast – THOMPSON Rory
Greater Western Sydney – CAMERON Jeremy
Greater Western Sydney – GILES Jonathan
Greater Western Sydney – SCULLY Tom
Hawthorn – GIBSON Josh
Hawthorn – MITCHELL Sam
Hawthorn – ROUGHEAD Jarryd
Melbourne – FRAWLEY James
Melbourne – GARLAND Collin
Melbourne – JONES Nathan
North Melbourne – SWALLOW Andrew
North Melbourne – THOMAS Lindsay
North Melbourne – THOMPSON Scott
Port Adelaide – BOAK Travis
Port Adelaide – WESTHOFF Justin
Port Adelaide – WINGARD Chad
Richmond – COTCHIN Trent
Richmond – DELEDIO Brett
Richmond – JACKSON Daniel
St Kilda – MONTAGNA Leigh
St Kilda – RIEWOLDT Nick
St Kilda – STEVEN Jack
Sydney – HANNEBERY Daniel
Sydney – JACK Kieren
Sydney – McVEIGH Jarrad
West Coast – GLASS Darren
West Coast – KENNEDY Josh
West Coast – MACKENZIE Eric
Western Bulldogs – GRIFFEN Ryan
Western Bulldogs – LIBERATORE Tom
Western Bulldogs – MINSON Will

The Robert Rose Most Courageous Award nominees, presented by Fire Ready Victoria

Adelaide – SLOANE Rory
Brisbane – PATFULL Joel
Carlton – SIMPSON Kade
Collingwood – BALL Luke
Essendon – BAGULEY Mark
Fremantle – DE BOER Matt
Geelong – SELWOOD Joel
Gold Coast – SWALLOW David
Greater Western Sydney – WARD Callan
Hawthorn – STRATTON Ben
Melbourne – GARLAND Collin
North Melbourne – ZIEBELL Jack
Port Adelaide – SCHULZ Jay
Richmond – MORRIS Steven
St Kilda – GEARY Jarryn
Sydney – HANNEBERY Daniel
West Coast – GLASS Darren
Western Bulldogs – CROSS Daniel

Best First Year Player Nominees, presented by Be the Influence
Adelaide – CROUCH Brad
Brisbane – MAYES Sam
Carlton – MENZEL Troy
Collingwood – DWYER Sam
Essendon – KOMMER Nick
Fremantle – HANNATH Jack
Geelong – THURLOW Jackson
Gold Coast – O’MEARA Jaeger
Greater Western Sydney – WHITFIELD Lachie
Hawthorn – ANDERSON Jed
Melbourne – JONES Matt
North Melbourne – GARNER Taylor
Port Adelaide – WINES Oliver
Richmond – VLASTUIN Nick
St Kilda – WRIGHT Nathan
Sydney – RAMPE Dane
West Coast – CARTER Adam
Western Bulldogs – GOODES Brett

Best Captain nominees, presented by L’Oreal Men Expert

Adelaide – VAN BERLO Nathan
Brisbane – ADCOCK Jed
Brisbane – BROWN Jonathon
Carlton – MURPHY Marc
Collingwood – MAXWELL Nick
Essendon – WATSON Jobe
Fremantle – PAVLICH Matthew
Geelong – SELWOOD Joel
Gold Coast – ABLETT JNR Gary
Greater Western Sydney – WARD Callan
Greater Western Sydney – DAVIS Phil
Hawthorn – HODGE Luke
Melbourne – TRENGOVE Jack
Melbourne – GRIMES Jack
North Melbourne – SWALLOW Andrew
Port Adelaide – BOAK Travis
Richmond – COTCHIN Trent
St Kilda –  RIEWOLDT Nick
Sydney – JACK Kieren
Sydney – MCVEIGH Jarrad
West Coast – GLASS Darren
Western Bulldogs – BOYD Matthew