22Under22 is a fan-voted concept that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 and under for the entirety of the season.

The concept was first introduced in 2013 to reward the young players who make an impact on their club and the competition so early in their careers.

After the major success of the male competition, the inaugural AFLW team was announced in 2020 to help celebrate the achievements of the best and brightest stars of the female competition.

How the voting works

– The AFL Players’ Board selects a squad of 40 players

– Fans then have the opportunity to decide the final 22 by voting on the AFLPA website

– The fan whose team is the best match for the final team wins a prize

– Players selected in the final team are presented with 22Under22 jumper



2020 22Under22 team

2019 22Under22 team

2018 22Under22 team

2017 22Under22 team

2016 22Under22 team

2015 22Under22 team

2014 22Under22 team

2013 22Under22 team

2012 22Under22 team


2020 AFLW 22under22 team


2020 – Andrew McGrath

2020 – Chloe Molloy (AFLW)

2019 – Harris Andrews

2018 – Marcus Bontempelli

2017 – Marcus Bontempelli

2016 – Marcus Bontempelli

2015 – Jake Stringer

2014 – Dyson Heppell

2013 – Dyson Heppell

2012 (retrospective) – Patrick Dangerfield