## AFLPLAYERS

## **KASLAR JOINS AFLPA BOARD**

Thursday 12<sup>th</sup> March

Gold Coast Suns inaugural co-captain, Leah Kaslar, has been elected to the AFLPA Board, joining Melbourne's Meg Downie as the AFLW representatives.

Kaslar replaces former Docker Luke McPharlin on the 11-member Board, with the changes ratified at the AFL Players' Association's Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Thursday evening.

Kaslar, who combines her AFLW career with her work as an environmental scientist, said she was excited about the opportunity to influence key decisions impacting players.

"AFLW has brought so much to my life and that has influenced my decision to join the AFLPA Board," she said.

"It's important to continue working towards a sustainable future for players while ensuring that work-life balance doesn't tip to one side. I'm also looking forward to helping negotiate another collective bargaining agreement in a couple of years."

## **READ: KASLAR ON JOINING THE AFLPA BOARD**

AFLPA CEO Paul Marsh welcomed Kaslar to the Board and thanked McPharlin for his contribution as a past player representative.

"We're thrilled to have Leah on-board. She's a proven leader, has extensive experience in the AFLW competition and is a strong advocate for the players," Marsh said.

"A significant priority continues to be getting closer to our members and understanding the unique challenges of being an AFLW player and Leah brings with her a range of skills and expertise that will help the AFLPA do that.

"I also want to acknowledge Luke's time on the Board and the contribution he's made to help past players and their transition out of the game, which is a continually growing priority for our business."

Kaslar becomes the first Gold Coast Suns player to join the Board and, behind Daisy Pearce and Downie, the third AFLW executive member in the AFLPA's history. AFLPA President, Patrick Dangerfield, and long-time Board member, Easton Wood, were also re-elected to the Board at the AGM, with Dangerfield retaining his role as President.

The AFLPA Board consists of Patrick Dangerfield (President), Rory Sloane and Phil Davis (Co-Vice Presidents), Leah Kaslar, Meg Downie, Easton Wood, Ed Curnow, Jamie Macmillan, Paul Marsh (AFLPA CEO), past player Chris Heffernan and Andrew Twaits (Independent Chair).

AFLPA also released its 2019 Annual Report and can be accessed here.