Default Fans

2016’s Most Courageous Nominees

Ahead of the AFL Players’ Association MVP Awards on Tuesday, September 13, each player from the 18 AFL clubs voted for who they consider their Most Courageous player.

The Robert Rose Most Courageous Award, presented by Ladder, has been awarded annually since 1991, with Collingwood’s Gavin Brown winning the inaugural accolade.

Since then, the award has featured 13 different winners. Former North Melbourne hard-man Glenn Archer has been voted the league’s Most Courageous on six occasions, while ex-Swan Paul Kelly has won five times.

Geelong’s Joel Selwood is third with four Most Courageous titles, while former Brisbane champion Jonathan Brown has three.

Last year’s winner Luke Parker is aiming to become the sixth player to win multiple Robert Rose Most Courageous Awards after being nominated again by the Swans.

the Robert Rose Award for Most Courageous Player 2016 nominees:

Rory Laird

Brisbane: Mitch Robinson

Carlton: Kade Simpson

Collingwood: Ben Sinclair

Essendon: Patrick Ambrose

Fremantle: Aaron Sandilands

Geelong: Joel Selwood

Gold Coast: Steven May

GWS Giants: Callan Ward

Hawthorn: Ben Stratton

Melbourne: Jack Viney

North Melbourne: Jack Ziebell

Port Adelaide: Brad Ebert

Richmond: Alex Rance

St Kilda: Sean Dempster

Sydney: Luke Parker

West Coast: Matt Priddis

Western Bulldogs: Dale Morris