Fans Players

2021 AFLW MVP nominations

The nominees for the 2021 AFLW Most Valuable Player Awards will be revealed throughout Monday and Tuesday.

Voting for the AFLW MVP, Most Courageous, Best First-Year Player and Best Captain awards is a two-stage process, with players nominating their teammates in stage one before selecting from a competition-wide field in stage two.

Players cannot vote for a player from their own club during stage two of the voting process.

The AFL Players’ Association will recognise the achievements of the award winners with a special collaboration with Channel 7 program Front Bar on Wednesday April 14.


MVP: Ebony Marinoff, Erin Phillips, Sarah Allan

Best First-Year Player: Rachelle Martin

Most Courageous: Chelsea Randall

Best Captain: Chelsea Randall


MVP: Catherine Svarc, Ally Anderson, Kate Lutkins

Best First-Year Player: Courtney Hodder

Most Courageous: Shannon Campbell

Best Captain: Emma Zielke


MVP: Breann Moody, Darcy Vescio, Madison Prespakis

Best First-Year Player: Mimi Hill

Most Courageous: Nicola Stevens

Best Captain: Katie Loynes, Kerryn Harrington


MVP: Brianna Davey, Brittany Bonnici, Jaimee Lambert

Best First-Year Player: Tarni Brown

Most Courageous: Sophie Casey

Best Captain: Stephanie Chiocci


MVP: Janelle Cuthbertson, Kiara Bowers, Stephanie Cain

Best First-Year Player: Sarah Verrier

Most Courageous: Janelle Cuthbertson

Best Captain: Kara Antonio


MVP: Amy McDonald, Becky Webster, Meg McDonald

Best First Year Player: Olivia Barber

Most Courageous: Julia Crockett-Grills

Best Captain: Meg McDonald

Gold Coast

MVP: Alison Drennan, Lauren Ahrens, Lauren Bella

Best First Year Player: Lucy Single

Most Courageous: Daisy D’Arcy

Best Captain: Hannah Dunn / Sam Virgo

GWS Giants

MVP: Alyce Parker, Cora Staunton, Elle Bennetts

Best First Year Player: Tarni Evans

Most Courageous: Brittany Tully

Best Captain: Alicia Eva


MVP: Karen Paxman, Lauren Pearce, Tyla Hanks

Best First Year Player: Eliza McNamara

Most Courageous: Lauren Pearce

Best Captain: Daisy Pearce

North Melbourne

MVP: Emma Kearney, Jasmine Garner, Jenna Bruton

Best First Year Player: Bella Eddey

Most Courageous: Emma Kearney

Best Captain: Emma Kearney


MVP: Harriet Cordner, Katie Brennan, Monique Conti

Best First Year Player: Ellie McKenzie

Most Courageous: Sarah D’Arcy

Best Captain: Katie Brennan

St Kilda

MVP: Georgia Patrikios, Hannah Priest, Tyanna Smith

Best First Year Player: Tyanna Smith

Most Courageous: Hannah Priest

Best Captain: Rhiannon Watt / Kate Shierlaw / Cat Phillips / Hannah Priest

West Coast Eagles

MVP: Aisling McCarthy, Mikayla Bowen, Niamh Kelly  

Best First Year Player: Isabella Lewis

Most Courageous: Niamh Kelly

Best Captain: Emma Swanson

Western Bulldogs

MVP: Ellie Blackburn, Izzy Huntington, Kirsty Lamb

Best First Year Player: Jess Fitzgerald

Most Courageous: Kirsty Lamb

Best Captain: Ellie Blackburn