Fans Players

22Under22 returns for 2018

Western Bulldogs star Marcus Bontempelli is in the running to win 22Under22 honours for a fifth straight season after he was included in the 40-man squad for 2018.

Bontempelli, Zach Merrett, Christian Petracca, Isaac Heeney, Clayton Oliver and Charlie Curnow are among the big names selected by the AFLPA Board for their performances across the 2018 home and away season.

To be eligible for selection, players must be aged 22 years and under for the entirety of the season, including the finals series.

AFL Players’ Association president Patrick Dangerfield said finalising the squad of young stars was a difficult task, and will prove to be even more difficult for the fans to settle on the final 22.

“With names like Bontempelli, Merrett, Heeney and Oliver, the 22under22 squad for 2018 is packed with talent once again,” Dangerfield said.

“Despite their tender age, all players in this squad have had a significant impact on their teams this season, which makes the task of selecting the 22 players all the more difficult.”


Isaac Heeney, who has been voted in by the fans twice, said being nominated again in 2018 was an honour given the sheer amount of talent.

“To be included in the 22under22 squad again is a tremendous honour, especially when you consider the other guys in the squad,” Heeney explained.

Now in its sixth year, 22Under22 is the industry’s only recognised fan-voted award and provides the footy public with the power to select the final 22.

Fans can now visit to cast their vote, before the final team is revealed at the AFL Players’ MVP Awards on Thursday, August 30.

Fans who submit a team that matches the final 22Under22 team will automatically go into the draw to win an AFL Players’ prize pack.

Voting closes on Tuesday, August 28, 2018.