Fans Players

Davis, Sloane become joint Vice-Presidents

Club captains Phil Davis and Rory Sloane have been elevated to the role of joint Vice-Presidents on the AFL Players’ Association Board.

This is the first time in AFLPA history that two Vice-Presidents have been appointed.

North Melbourne leader Jamie Macmillan, Carlton veteran Ed Curnow and Melbourne AFLW player Meg Downie have also been elected to the Board, replacing Sam Docherty, Scott Pendlebury and Daisy Pearce, who have decided to step off for personal reasons.

Davis and Sloane, who were already Board members, were elevated to the role vacated by Docherty at the 2019 AFLPA Annual General Meeting on Tuesday night, which took place ahead of the Association’s Season Launch event at the Mountain Goat brewery in Richmond.

Geelong star Patrick Dangerfield, who has been on the AFLPA board for five years, retained his role as the AFL Players’ Association President.

Macmillan, who has been one of the longest serving AFLPA delegates — representing the North Melbourne playing group since 2012 — is excited to be a strong voice for the wider playing ground.

“Having been a part of the AFLPA delegate program for a while, this is a logical step for my development as a player-advocate,” Macmillan said.

“I’m looking forward to working closely with the Board, AFLPA staff and player delegates to provide strong support for all players.”

Curnow has also been through the delegate program, serving the Carlton players for four years, and has always been a believer in what the Association can do for the industry.

“Having secured a share of industry revenue in 2017, this year will be another big one in tackling a number of priorities for players and the industry, and I’m excited to help us continue growing the code,” Curnow said.

Downie said it was an honour to take over from teammate and former captain Pearce and is excited to be the voice for the AFLW players.

“Daisy’s contribution to all aspects of the game will be irreplaceable. I am looking forward to the opportunity of continuing to build on the great foundations she and her fellow board members have been instrumental in laying, namely the game’s first AFLW CBA,” Downie said.

“The future of the league is bright, however there is still much work to be done in shaping the ALFW and ensuring its success now and into the future. I am committed to this journey and excited by the challenges it will no doubt present.”

AFL Players’ Association CEO Paul Marsh paid tribute to Docherty, for his work as vice-president, Pearce, who was the first AFLW player to be elected on the Board, and Pendlebury, who was a strong campaigner among the AFL Captains.

“All three individuals have been strong advocates for the players and, despite stepping down due to other commitments, they continue to actively support the AFL Players’ Association and the work we do for all of our members,” Marsh said.

Dangerfield (President), Phil Davis (Vice-President), Rory Sloane (Vice-President), Meg Downie, Easton Wood, Jamie Macmillan, Ed Curnow Phil Davis, Luke McPharlin, Chris Heffernan, Paul Marsh (CEO) and Andrew Twaits (Independent Chair) complete the 2019 AFL Players’ Association Board.

The AFLPA also released the 2018 Annual Report, which can be accessed here.