Default Fans

Players Launch Racism. It Stops With Me

AFL stars and footy fans are making a stand against racism in the community by joining forces to support the Racism. It Stops with Me campaign.

The AFL Players’ Association, in partnership with the AFL and Human Rights Commission, will be screening Racism. It Stops With Me video messages on big screens at AFL venues around the country this weekend.

Clubs will play tailored videos featuring their players and supporters at home games for the remainder of the 2016 season and beyond.

AFL stars such as Jack Riewoldt, Jarrad McVeigh, Mark LeCras, Eddie Betts and Dayne Zorko will be joined by everyday football fans in the video packages.

AFL Players’ Association President Matthew Pavlich is proud of the way AFL players have come together to influence change amongst the football community and broader society.

“It’s important that all AFL players acknowledge the influential role they play in the community and harness this united power to encourage positive behaviour,” he said.

“Hopefully by watching the Racism. It Stops With Me videos at every AFL match, spectators will be reminded that there is absolutely no room for racism in our game or in society.”

Human Rights Commission Race Discrimination Commissioner Dr Tim Soutphommasane encourages all footy fans to follow the lead set by AFL players and take a stand against racism.

Racism. It Stops with Me is about empowering people to respond to prejudice and discrimination. It’s important that everyone considers speaking out against racism if they witness it,” he said.

AFL General Manager of Football Operations Mark Evans said the AFL supports the proactive approach taken in developing club-specific videos to be played at matches, ensuring they resonate with those sitting in the stands.

“We understand the role the AFL plays in educating the community about the impacts of racism,” he said.

“Players, coaches, administrators and fans can all play a role in the fight against racism.”

The Racism. It Stops With Me was developed by the Human Rights Commission and aims to ensure more Australians recognise that racism is unacceptable in our community. It provides Australians with the tools and resources to take practical action against racism and empower individuals and organisations to prevent and respond effectively to racism.

Adelaide: Eddie Betts, Cameron Ellis-Yolmen, Wayne Milera

Brisbane: Allen Christensen, Dayne Zorko

Carlton: Sam Rowe, Ed Curnow, Zac Toohey, Darcy Vescio

Collingwood: Darcy Moore, Travis Varcoe

Essendon: Brendon Goddard, Courtenay Dempsey

Fremantle: Matt DeBoer, David Mundy

Geelong: Zac Smith, Cameron Guthrie

Gold Coast: Adam Saad, Jarrod Harbrow

GWS: Aiden Corr, James Stewart

Hawthorn: Josh Gibson, Isaac Smith

Melbourne: Jack Viney, Neville Jetta

North Melbourne: Majak Daw, Jack Ziebell

Port Adelaide: Chad Wingard, Alipate Carlile

Richmond: Jack Riewoldt, Shane Edwards

St Kilda: Shane Savage, Joshua Bruce

Sydney: Jarrad McVeigh

West Coast: Mark LeCras, Josh Hill

Western Bulldogs: Lachie Hunter, Lin Jong

Female player representative: Aasta O’Connor