Fans Industry

2022 AFLPA MVP Nominees announced

The nominees for the 2022 AFL Players’ Association’s Most Valuable Player Awards have been revealed.

Voting for the AFLPA MVP (presented by Snaffle), Most Courageous (presented by Tackle Your Feelings), Best First-Year Player (presented by Local Expert) and Best Captain (presented by the Diamond Guys) awards is a two-stage process, with players nominating their teammates in stage one before selecting from a competition-wide field in stage two.

Players cannot vote for a player from their own club during stage two of the voting process.

The AFL Players’ Association will recognise the achievements of the award winners in a large scale industry-wide event telecast on Fox Footy on Wedensday August 24.


Best Captain – Rory Sloane

BFYP – Jake Soligo

Most Courageous – Ned McHenry

MVP – Jordan Dawson, Rory Laird, Taylor Walker


Best Captain – Dayne Zorko

BFYP – Kai Lohmann

Most Courageous – Noah Answerth

MVP – Charlie Cameron, Hugh McCluggage, Lachie Neale


Best Captain – Patrick Cripps

BFYP – Jesse Motlop

Most Courageous – Sam Docherty

MVP – Charlie Curnow, Patrick Cripps, Sam Walsh


Best Captain – Scott Pendlebury

BFYP – Nick Daicos

Most Courageous – Brayden Maynard

MVP – Jack Crisp, Jeremy Howe, Nick Daicos


Best Captain – Dyson Heppell

BFYP – Nic Martin

Most Courageous – Jayden Laverde

MVP – Mason Redman, Peter Wright, Zach Merrett


Best Captain – Nathan Fyfe

BFYP – Neil Erasmus

Most Courageous – Hayden Young

MVP – Andrew Brayshaw, Brennan Cox, Will Brodie


Best Captain – Joel Selwood

BFYP – Oliver Dempsey

Most Courageous – Tom Atkins

MVP – Jeremy Cameron, Mark Blicavs, Tom Hawkins

Gold Coast Suns

Best Captain – Jarrod Witts, Touk Miller

BFYP – Mac Andrew

Most Courageous – David Swallow

MVP – Jarrod Witts, Touk Miller, Sam Collins

GWS Giants

Best Captain – Josh Kelly, Toby Greene, Stephen Coniglio

BFYP – Finn Callaghan

Most Courageous – Harry Perryman

MVP – Sam Taylor, Stephen Coniglio, Toby Greene


Best Captain – Ben McEvoy

BFYP – Connor MacDonald

Most Courageous – Blake Hardwick

MVP – Dylan Moore, Jai Newcombe, James Sicily


Best Captain – Max Gawn

BFYP – Jacob Van Rooyen

Most Courageous – Jack Viney

MVP – Angus Brayshaw, Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver

North melbourne

Best Captain – Jack Ziebell

BFYP – Paul Curtis

Most Courageous – Luke McDonald

MVP – Ben McKay, Jy Simpkin, Luke Davie-Uniacke

Port adelaide

Best Captain – Tom Jonas

BFYP – Jase Burgoyne

Most Courageous – Tom Jonas

MVP – Connor Rozee, Sam Powell-Pepper, Todd Marshall


Best Captain – Dylan Grimes, Toby Nankervis

BFYP – Josh Gibcus

Most Courageous – Liam Baker

MVP – Dion Prestia, Liam Baker, Shai Bolton

St Kilda

Best Captain – Jack Steele

BFYP – Marcus Windhager

Most Courageous – Daniel McKenzie

MVP – Callum Wilkie, Jack Sinclair, Jack Steele


Best Captain – Callum Mills, Dane Rampe, Luke Parker

BFYP – Matthew Roberts

Most Courageous – Paddy McCartin

MVP – Callum Mills, Chad Warner, Isaac Heeney

West coast

Best Captain – Luke Shuey

BFYP – Brady Hough

Most Courageous – Tom Barrass

MVP – Jack Redden, Shannon Hurn, Tom Barrass

Western bulldogs

Best Captain – Marcus Bontempelli

BFYP – Robbie McComb

Most Courageous – Josh Dunkley

MVP – Aaron Naughton, Marcus Bontempelli, Tom Liberatore