Fans Players

#22Under22 – By the numbers

The 22Under22 final team for 2021 was announced yesterday ahead of the AFL Players’ Association MVP Awards on September 2, proudly presented by Snaffle.

We look at the numbers that define the team.

Top 10 Most Popular:

Bailey Smith – 97 per cent of teams

Aaron Naughton – 91 per cent

Andrew Brayshaw – 90 per cent

Sam Walsh – 89 per cent

Shai Bolton – 89 per cent

Brandon Starcevich – 85 per cent

Jordan Ridley – 85 per cent

Luke Jackson – 85 per cent

Changkuoth Jiath – 84 per cent

Jack Lukosius – 81 per cent

Most representatives:

Gold Coast Suns – Ben King, Jack Lukosius and Wil Powell

Melbourne – Luke Jackson, Kysaiah Pickett and Trent Rivers

Three times a charm:

Carlton midfielder Sam Walsh continued the blistering start to his career, earning a third straight selection in the 22under22 team. In his final season of eligibility, Western Bulldogs forward Aaron Naughton was also selected for the third straight season.

All-Australian squad:

One – Sam Walsh


Demonstrating a changing of the guard, 12 first-timers graced the 22Under22 team in 2021 (Brandon Starcevich, Sam Taylor, Wil Powell, Changkuoth Jiath, Isaac Quaynor, Shai Bolton, Zac Bailey, Kysaiah Pickett, Luke Jackson, Oscar Allen, Tom McCartin and Trent Rivers).