Default Fans

22Under22 team announced!

The 2014 22Under22 team has been announced at the AFL Players’ MVP Awards tonight, with Essendon young gun Dyson Heppell named captain for a second consecutive year and Hawthorn forward Jack Gunston selected as the vice-captain.

The AFL Players’ Association called on all footy fans to help decide the team by picking their best 22Under22 via the AFL Players’ Facebook page last month, and after thousands of votes were cast, the definitive 22Under22 team was decided.


Twelve of the 18 teams had a player in the final 22; Gold Coast led the charge, with six Suns named in the team. Collingwood was next best with three, while Adelaide, Essendon and the Western Bulldogs each had two players selected.

Nine of the 22 were also selected in the inaugural 22Under22 team, named in 2013. To be eligible for 22Under22, players must be aged 22 or under on Grand Final day.

Find out more about 22Under22 here.