Fans Players

22under22 Team of the Decade

Leigh Matthews Trophy winners, Brownlow Medallists, Coleman Medallists, premiership medallions and All-Australian blazers are just some of the accolades won by 22Under22 representatives since the competition’s inception.

Celebrating 10 years since the inaugural team was announced, the AFL Players’ Association is launching a 22Under22 Team of the Decade, proudly presented by Snaffle, where all previously selected 22Under22 players will be voted on by the fans to create the ultimate team.

Established in 2013, 22Under22 is an honorary representative Australian rules football team that seeks to recognise the best young talent in the AFL and AFLW.

Players have been placed in the position where they played the majority of their football between the period of 2013 to 2022, according to Champion Data, with seven players (Christian Petracca, Dustin Martin, Jack Ziebell, Jade Gresham, Jordan De Goey, Josh Dunkley and Shai Bolton) earning dual position mid-forward status.

Fans have the opportunity to decide the final 22 by voting at The fan whose team is best matched to the final team wins a custom 22Under22 Team of the Decade jumper and a $250 Prezzee voucher, thanks to Snaffle.

Voting will open on February 20, 2023 and close at midnight on March 1, 2023. The final team will be announced on March 9, 2023 via the AFL Players’ Association’s social media channels.

The AFLPA are proud to partner with Snaffle as the major sponsor of 22Under22 and the Most Valuable Player Awards. Get your Snaffle Strut on when you buy the stuff you want with bite-sized weekly payments spread over one, two or three years, leaving more money in your pocket to enjoy your life! And with hundreds of products including the latest phones, gaming, entertainment, whitegoods and furniture to choose from – you’ll be able to afford what you want, when you want. Don’t just live life, own it, with Snaffle.

22Under22 history

Three players have been selected in every year of their eligibility for the squad:

  • Marcus Bontempelli (five selections): 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
  • Aaron Naughton (four selections): 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022
  • Sam Walsh (four selections): 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022

Seventeen players have gone on to win AFLPA Awards (MVP, Best Captain, Best First-Year and Most Courageous) throughout their careers. Six of those have won the coveted MVP:

  • Nathan Fyfe – 2014 and 2015
  • Dustin Martin – 2017
  • Patrick Cripps – 2019
  • Lachie Neale – 2020
  • Marcus Bontempelli – 2021
  • Andrew Brayshaw – 2022 (the only player to be voted in the 22Under22 team and MVP in the same year)

Other key awards:

  • Six Brownlow Medals
  • Three Coleman Medals
  • 76 All Australian blazers
  • 50 premierships

Most club selections: 

Club No. of all-time selectionsNo. of current players in squad
Adelaide 11 6
Brisbane 13 11
Carlton 14 10
Collingwood 16 8
Essendon 16 7
Fremantle 14 9
Geelong 3
Gold Coast Suns 25 7
GWS Giants 12 4
Hawthorn 5
Melbourne 15 11
North Melbourne 4
Port Adelaide 11 7
Richmond 11 9
St Kilda 7
Sydney 15 7
West Coast 6
Western Bulldogs 19 6
Past players 15