Fans Players

Bowers gives her competition the old ‘heave ho’

A unanimous best-on-ground performance from Kiara Bowers in Sunday’s AFLW Derby has seen Fremantle continue its monopoly over the fan-voted AFLW MVP of the Week award.

Bowers, who won her second AFLW Derby Medal, secured 48 per cent of the fan vote, ahead of Collingwood co-captain Brianna Davey (27 per cent) and Western Bulldogs captain Ellie Blackburn (25 per cent).

She follows Dockers teammate Gemma Houghton who was adjudged by the fans as the best player in round one.

Despite the wet weather, hard-edged midfielder Bowers willed her side over the line with a 22 disposal (17 contested) performance to help secure the perfect start to the season for Fremantle. Nominated for a staggering eighth time, Bowers also laid 14 tackles – doubling the next best – and had seven clearances in her side’s 9-point victory.

Nominated for the second time in her career, Davey continued her strong start to the season against the Cats collecting 25 possessions, eight inside 50s and laying four tackles. To top off her performance, Davey kicked the sealer in the final term as the Pies secured a 29-point win to put them one game clear in sixth on the ladder.

Bulldogs captain Blackburn gave her side the edge in Friday nights annual Pride game against Carlton, collecting 22 touches and five inside 50s. As the Blues threatened to spoil the Bulldogs’ night, Blackburn kicked two crucial final quarter goals to help secure the six-point win.

The AFL Players’ Association AFLW MVP of the Week is in its fourth year and looks to recognise the AFLW’s best performers each round. Fans will get the choice to select the MVP of the Week, after three names have been put forward by the AFLPA. 

All fans who vote will go into the running to win a personalised Carry Me bag from July, valued at $65. One lucky winner who votes each week will also go in the draw to win the ultimate July travel collection, including a Carry OnChecked Checked Plus bag valued at $895.


Round 1 – Gemma Houghton (Fremantle)

Round 2 – Kiara Bowers (Fremantle)