Fans Players

Fans Decide 22Under22 Team of the Decade

A team full of the game’s champions has been decided, with fans finalising their votes for the AFL Players’ Association’s 22Under22 Team of the Decade, proudly presented by Snaffle.

Headlined by the likes of Dustin Martin, Christian Petracca, Marcus Bontempelli, Jeremy Cameron, Darcy Moore and Brodie Grundy, the Team of the Decade is an honourary representative side that seeks to recognise the best young talent throughout the first 10 years of the 22Under22 competition.

To be eligible, players must have been selected in a previous 22Under22 side (2013-2022) with fans charged with the responsibility of creating the ultimate team.

Martin was selected the most times of any player, with 76 per cent of teams fielding the Richmond superstar. Two Demons closely followed with Petracca and Grundy being selected in 74 and 73 per cent of fans’ sides respectively.

Eleven of the 18 AFL clubs had at least one current representative in the final Team of the Decade, with Melbourne featuring the most with four representatives (Petracca, Grundy, Clayton Oliver and Steven May), while Carlton (Sam Docherty, Charlie Curnow and Patrick Cripps) and Richmond (Martin, Shai Bolton and Tom Lynch) were the next best with three players each.

Marcus Bontempelli, a five-time 22Under22 representative, was selected as the Team of the Decade captain, with Harris Andrews and Andrew Brayshaw named as his co-deputies. Bontempelli was selected as the skipper due to being a three-time 22Under22 captain over the course of the decade (more than any other player in the final Team of the Decade), with Andrews and Brayshaw also having skippered a previous 22Under22.

Established in 2013, 22Under22 is an honorary representative Australian rules football team that seeks to recognise the best young talent in the AFL and AFLW. The fan whose team best matched the final Team of the Decade won a custom 22Under22 Team of the Decade jumper and a $250 Prezzee voucher, thanks to Snaffle.

The AFLPA are proud to partner with Snaffle as the major sponsor of 22Under22 and the Most Valuable Player Awards. Get your Snaffle Strut on when you buy the stuff you want with bite-sized weekly payments spread over one, two or three years, leaving more money in your pocket to enjoy your life! And with hundreds of products including the latest phones, gaming, entertainment, whitegoods and furniture to choose from – you’ll be able to afford what you want, when you want. Don’t just live life, own it, with Snaffle.

Top 10 Most Popular  

Dustin Martin76
Christian Petracca74
Brodie Grundy73
Jeremy Cameron67
Marcus Bontempelli65
Patrick Cripps62
Lachie Neale59
Darcy Moore55
Clayton Oliver55
Nat Fyfe52

Most selections by club

ClubNo. of selectionsPlayers
Adelaide1Rory Laird   
Brisbane2Lachie NealeHarris Andrews  
Carlton3Sam DochertyCharlie CurnowPatrick Cripps 
Collingwood2Nick DaicosDarcy Moore  
Fremantle2Nat FyfeAndrew Brayshaw  
Geelong1Jeremy Cameron   
Hawthorn1James Sicily   
Melbourne4Brodie GrundyChristian PetraccaClayton OliverSteven May
Richmond3Dustin MartinShai BoltonTom Lynch 
Sydney2Callum MillsIsaac Heeney  
Western Bulldogs1Marcus Bontempelli