Fans Players

Freo’s ‘Fab Four’ headline 2022 22under22 team

As they prepare an assault on the club’s first premiership, Fremantle’s rise up the AFL ladder has been rewarded with four of their youngsters selected in the AFL Players’ Association 22Under22 team, presented by Snaffle.

Andrew Brayshaw, Hayden Young, Jordan Clark and Caleb Serong feature in the final 22Under22 side, the most of any club and ahead of Sydney and Collingwood, who each had three players picked.

The initial 40-person squad, which was selected by former Docker and Sun, Michael Barlow, with support from the AFLPA and Champion Data, was narrowed to the best 22 players aged 22 and under, as voted by the fans.

Of the final 22, Aaron Naughton and Sam Walsh were selected for the fourth time, while Adam Cerra, Brayshaw, Bailey Smith and Max King feature for the third time. Nick Daicos, who was one of 10 players to be selected in the final 22 for the first time, was the most picked player, with the first-year Magpie featuring in 97 per cent of fans’ teams, while Brayshaw and Sam De Koning each were selected in 95 per cent of sides.

Brayshaw, who was named as the side’s captain after being the deputy in 2021, said he was grateful to be selected for the role this season.

“I’m humbled to be picked in the final 22Under22 team alongside so many talented players, including three of my teammates – I’ve seen firsthand how much work they’ve put in so early in their AFL careers,” Brayshaw said.

“I’m also really honoured to be selected as the side’s captain and would like to thank the fans for their support.”

To be eligible for selection, players had to be aged 22 or younger for the entire AFL season, including finals, and played a minimum of 11 games throughout the 2022 season.

The fan who selected the team that best matched the final side won a 22Under22 jumper signed by the side’s captain and vice-captain and their choice of either Apple AirPods Pro or Samsung Galaxy Buds Pro, thanks to Snaffle.