Fans Players

MVP Nominees: Adelaide – GWS Giants

The AFL Players’ Association MVP Award nominees for 2020 have been revealed. Three awards – Most Courageous, Best Captain and Best First Year – will be announced in line with #22Under22 on September 22, while the MVP Award, presented by Torrens University, will be announced on September 24.

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner. Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.

MVP Nominees: Hawthorn – Western Bulldogs

Alongside the Most Courageous, presented by Our Watch, Best Captain, presented by The Diamond Guys, and Best First Year, presented by MSC Signs, award nominees, the league’s players have nominated the three players they believe are their most valuable.


MVP: Rory Laird, Reilly O’Brien, Brodie Smith

Most Courageous: Kyle Hartigan

Best First Year: Harry Schoenberg

Captain: Rory Sloane


MVP: Harris Andrews, Jarryd Lyons, Lachie Neale

Most Courageous: Oscar McInerney

Best First Year: Keidean Coleman

Captain: Dayne Zorko


MVP: Jack Martin, Sam Walsh, Jacob Weitering

Most Courageous: Liam Jones

Best First Year: Sam Philp

Captain: Patrick Cripps, Sam Docherty


MVP: Taylor Adams, Brayden Maynard, Darcy Moore

Most Courageous: Taylor Adams

Best First Year: Trey Ruscoe

Captain: Scott Pendlebury


MVP: Andrew McGrath, Zac Merrett, Jordan Ridley

Most Courageous: Jordan Ridley

Best First Year: Ned Cahill

Captain: Dyson Heppell


MVP: Nathan Fyfe, Luke Ryan, Matthew Taberner

Most Courageous: Ethan Hughes

Best First Year: Caleb Serong

Captain: Nathan Fyfe


MVP: Cameron Guthrie, Tom Hawkins, Sam Menegola

Most Courageous: Jack Henry

Best First Year: Brad Close

Captain: Joel Selwood

Gold coast suns

MVP: Samuel Collins, Touk Miller, Jarrod Witts

Most Courageous: Samuel Collins

Best First Year: Noah Anderson

Captain: David Swallow, Jarrod Witts

gws giants

MVP: Nick Haynes, Harry Perryman, Lachie Whitfield

Most Courageous: Harry Perryman

Best First Year: Lachlan Ash

Captain: Stephen Coniglio