Fans Players

MVP Nominees: Hawthorn – Western Bulldogs

The AFL Players’ Association MVP Award nominees for 2020 have been revealed. Three awards – Most CourageousBest Captain and Best First Year – will be announced in line with #22Under22 on September 22, while the MVP Award, presented by Torrens University, will be announced on September 24.

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner. Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.

MVP Nominees: Adelaide – GWS Giants

Alongside the Most Courageous, presented by Our Watch, Best Captain, presented by The Diamond Guys, and Best First Year, presented by MSC Signs, award nominees, the league’s players have nominated the three players they believe are their most valuable.


MVP: Sam Frost, Jack Gunston, Ben McEvoy

Most Courageous: Ben McEvoy

Best First Year: Will Day

Captain: Ben Stratton


MVP: Max Gawn, Steven May, Christian Petracca

Most Courageous: Jack Viney

Best First Year: Luke Jackson

Captain: Max Gawn

North melbourne

MVP: Todd Goldstein, Luke McDonald, Jy Simpkin

Most Courageous: Jed Anderson

Best First Year: Jack Mahony

Captain: Jack Ziebell

port adelaide

MVP: Travis Boak, Darcy Byrne-Jones, Charlie Dixon

Most Courageous: Tom Jonas

Best First Year: Mitchell Georgiades

Captain: Tom Jonas


MVP: Shai Bolton, Dustin Martin, Nick Vlastuin

Most Courageous: Liam Baker

Best First Year: Thomson Dow

Captain: Trent Cotchin

st kilda

MVP: Daniel Butler, Zak Jones, Jack Steele

Most Courageous: Jack Steele

Best First Year: Ryan Byrnes

Captain: Jarryn Geary


MVP: Tom Papley, Luke Parker, Dane Rampe

Most Courageous: Dane Rampe

Best First Year: Dylan Stephens

Captain: Dane Rampe, Luke Parker, Joshua Kennedy

west coast

MVP: Nic Naitanui, Liam Ryan, Bradley Sheppard

Most Courageous: Liam Duggan

Best First Year: Nic Reid

Captain: Luke Shuey

western bulldogs

MVP: Marcus Bontempelli, Caleb Daniel, Jack Macrae

Most Courageous: Hayden Crozier

Best First Year: Cody Weightman

Captain: Marcus Bontempelli