Default Fans

Players’ Top 50 – Number 3

Which players are most respected by their peers? We asked the players to share their opinions via a survey for’s Players’ Top 50.

For the second consecutive season, Geelong skipper Joel Selwood has been named at number three in the Players’ Top 50. Selwood further enhanced his status among the AFL’s elite in 2014 with another remarkable season that culminated in his third Geelong Best and Fairest and fourth All-Australian guernsey – his second consecutive selection as captain.

“Joel decides that something needs to be done and that he is going to take the whole team with him” – Chris Scott

The courageous midfielder averaged 25 disposals and six tackles a game to lead the Cats in possessions, contested possessions, clearances, and tackles in 2014 while recently adding goalkicking to his game, booting 24 majors for the year.

Selwood has also been recognised by his peers for his toughness and bravery, voted as the AFL Players’ Associations’ Most Corageous player for the last three seasons.

Geelong coach Chris Scott rated Selwood’s matchwinning capabilties similar to that of dual Brownlow Medallist Gary Ablett after one of the Cats’ close wins against Hawthorn in 2013.

“They are different players so we should not really compare them, but Joel just imposes himself on the game,” the premiership coach said.

“Gary does it with brilliance and I think we are all in awe of what he was able to do the other night. But it really looks to me, from the outside, that Joel decides that something needs to be done and that he is going to take the whole team with him.”


3. Joel Selwood (Geelong)

4. Lance Franklin (Sydeny)

5. Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)

6. Jarryd Roughead (Hawthorn)

7. Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide)

8. Luke Hodge (Hawthorn)

9. Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)

10. Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide)

11. Josh Kennedy (Sydney Swans)

12. Jobe Watson (Essendon)

13. Trent Cotchin (Richmond)

14. Matt Priddis (West Coast Eagles)

15. Dyson Heppell (Essendon)

16. Nick Riewoldt (St Kilda)

17. Steve Johnson (Geelong)

18. Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn)

19. Tom Rockliff (Brisbane Lions)

20. Aaron Sandliands (Fremantle)

21. Dayne Beams (Brisbane)

22. Jordan Lewis (Hawthorn)

23. Tom Hawkins (Geelong)

24. Rory Sloane (Adelaide)

25. Harry Taylor (Geelong)

26. Brent Harvey (North Melbourne)

27. Luke Parker (Sydney)

28. Chris Judd (Carlton)

29. Callan Ward (Greater Western Sydney)

30. Marc Murphy (Carlton)

31. Nathan Jones (Melbourne)

32. Bryce Gibbs (Carlton)

33. David Mundy (Fremantle)

34. Brendon Goddard (Essendon)

35. Jarrad McVeigh (Sydney)

36. Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide)

37. Pearce Hanley (Brisbane Lions)

38. Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn)

39. Dustin Martin (Richmond)

40. Dan Hannebery (Sydney)

41. Shaun Burgoyne (Hawthorn)

42. Jimmy Bartel (Geelong)

43. Josh Kennedy (West Coast Eagles)

44. Ryan Griffen (Greater Western Sydney)

45. Matthew Pavlich (Fremantle)

46. Luke Breust (Hawthorn)

47. Travis Cloke (Collingwood)

48. Dane Swan (Collingwood)

49. Brett Deledio (Richmond)

50. Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood)