Fans Players


The AFL Players’ Association has revealed the 2023 AFLW 22Under22 squad, proudly presented by Local Expert, with a sweep of young stars making their debut.

Sydney has dominated the field with a club record of five selections, all of whom are making their first appearance in the squad of 44 – Cynthia Hamilton, Laura Gardiner, Ella Heads, Lucy McEvoy and Ally Morphett.

Minor premiers Adelaide had strong representation with four selections, three of which are aiming to be selected in the final team for the first time, while Madison Newman is vying for her second 22Under22 selection.

For the second year running, Geelong has featured heavily, this year with four selections. Midfielders Georgie Prespakis and Nina Morrison are both vying for their third appearance in the final team, while Gold Coast gun Charlie Rowbottom is also looking to make the cut for the third time.


Chair of Selectors and former Geelong captain Melissa Hickey praised the depth of talent in this year’s pool.

“The game is in such good shape at the moment, and it’s incredible to see that build each year,” Hickey said.

“We definitely had a difficult job narrowing down the field – the amount of skill and drive among our young players is very impressive. It’s an honour to be able to recognise our peers and I can’t wait to watch this group continue to dominate in the years ahead.”

22Under22 is a fan-voted initiative that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 and under for the entirety of the season (including Grand Final day). For a player to be eligible for the squad of 44, they were required to play 50 per cent of season games (five matches) and were rewarded for their consistency across the season.

How 22Under22 works:

  • Chair of Selectors and former Melbourne and Geelong player, Melissa Hickey, and an internal selection panel at the AFL Players’ Association selects a squad of 44 players, with support from Champion Data.
  • All 18 AFLW clubs are provided with the opportunity to nominate players and their primary positions to be in consideration for the squad of 44 players.
  • Fans then have the opportunity to decide the final 22 by voting via
  • The fan whose team best matches the final squad wins a $150 Prezzee voucher, thanks to Local Expert.

Voting is open for seven days from November 9 to November 15, via, and the final team will be announced on November 22 via the AFL Players’ Association’s social media channels.

The AFLPA is proud to partner with Local Expert, an Aspire42 company, as the major partner of 22Under22 and the Most Valuable Player Awards.