Fans Players

Star 22under22 Trio Set Record Pace

The AFL Players’ Association has revealed the AFLW 22Under22 squad, proudly presented by Snaffle, with three young stars vying to secure a record fourth selection in the final 22.

Alyce Parker, Monique Conti and Madison Prespakis feature in the 44-person squad for Season 7 and have been voted into the final 22 in each season since the concept was first introduced for the AFLW competition in 2020.

For the second straight season, Brisbane has dominated the squad, with five players representing the Lions – Natalie Grider, Courtney Hodder, Jesse Wardlaw, Tahlia Hickie and Isabel Dawes.

After securing the minor premiership, winning nine of 10 home and away matches, Brisbane are favourites to claim their second flag in three seasons, following their Qualifying Final victory on Saturday.

Three clubs – Carlton, Geelong and the Western Bulldogs – also featured heavily, with four players from each club being selected.

AFLPA Board member and GWS Giants player, Isabel Huntington, said the AFLW competition is in good hands.

“It’s been a long and extraordinary 2022 for so many players and the younger brigade continued to show how influential they could be in Season 7,” Huntington said.

“The dominance of these young players, despite balancing things like school, study and work, is remarkable and I’m glad that, as players, we get to honour the achievements of those who will be seeing the competition through to an exciting era.”

22Under22 is a fan-voted concept that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 and under for the entirety of the season (including Grand Final day – November 26). For a player to be eligible for the squad of 44, they were required to play 50 per cent of season games, equating to five matches and were rewarded for their consistency across the season.

Those selected in the final team are presented with a custom-made 22Under22 jumper, while the Captain and Vice-Captain will also be presented with a gift from Snaffle.

How 22Under22 works:

  • Chair of Selectors and Adelaide Premiership player, Jess Foley, and an internal selection panel at the AFL Players’ Association selects a squad of 44 players, with support from Champion Data.
  • All 18 AFLW clubs are provided with the opportunity to nominate players and their primary positions to be in consideration for the squad of 44 players.
  • Due to the number of quality candidates, the squad was increased to 44 (was previously 40).
  • Fans then have the opportunity to decide the final 22 by voting via
  • The fan whose team best matches to the final team wins a framed 22Under22 jumper signed by the Captain and Vice-Captain and their choice of either Apple AirPods Pro or Samsung Galaxy Buds Pro, thanks to Snaffle.

Voting is open for seven days from November 9 to November 16, via, and the final team will be announced on November 22 via the AFL Players’ Association’s social media channels.

The AFLPA are proud to partner with Snaffle as the major sponsor of 22Under22 and the Most Valuable Player Awards. Get your Snaffle Strut on when you buy the stuff you want with bite-sized weekly payments spread over one, two or three years, leaving more money in your pocket to enjoy your life! And with hundreds of products including the latest phones, gaming, entertainment, whitegoods and furniture to choose from – you’ll be able to afford what you want, when you want. Don’t just live life, own it, with Snaffle.