Madden Medal

Madden Medal

The AFL Players’ Association Madden Medal is awarded to the retiring player who has best demonstrated on-field excellence, personal development and growth, as well as community spirit over the course of his playing career.

The award is named after former AFLPA presidents Simon and Justin Madden for their distinguished contribution to players and the game and was first presented in 2007.

The Madden Medal winner is selected from a list of nominees decided by the AFL Players’ Association Board and past Madden Medal winners.

Fremantle champion and AFLPA President Matthew Pavlich was awarded the 2016 Madden Medal ahead of nominees Jimmy Bartel, Corey Enright, Brent Harvey, Will Minson, Nick Dal Santo and Ted Richards.

Pavlich was presented with the award from Simon Madden and Judd at the AFL Players’ 17 season launch event in March.

Madden Medal winners

2016 – Matthew Pavlich

2015 – Chris Judd

2014 – Lenny Hayes

2013 – Jude Bolton

2012 – Luke Power

2011 – Cameron Ling

2010 – Brett Kirk

2009 – Michael O’Loughlin

2008 – Robert Harvey

2007 – Glenn Archer