Fans Players

2020 22Under22 – By the numbers

The 22Under22 final team for 2020, presented by Big Swing Golf, was announced on Tuesday in line with the AFL Players’ Most Courageous, Best First Year and Best Captain Awards.

We look at the numbers that define the team.

Top 10 Most Popular:

Jacob Weitering – 16,314 votes (92.14 per cent of teams)

Bailey Smith – 14,796 votes (83.56 per cent)

Hugh McCluggage – 14,399 votes (81.32 per cent)

Jack Lukosius – 14,384 votes (81.23 per cent)

Hunter Clark – 14,331 votes (80.93 per cent)

Zak Butters – 13,535 votes (76.44 per cent)

Aaron Naughton – 13,520 votes (76.35 per cent)

Jordan Ridley – 13,397 votes (75.66 per cent)

Noah Balta – 13,255 votes (74.86 per cent)

Sam Walsh – 13,197 votes (74.53 per cent)

Most representatives:

Fremantle – Adam Cerra, Andrew Brayshaw and Sean Darcy

Gold Coast Suns – Ben King, Jack Lukosius and Izak Rankine

St Kilda – Hunter Clark, Max King and Nick Coffield

sophomore SEASONS to remember:

Izak Rankine

After being taken with pick No. 3 in the 2018 Draft, Rankine had to bide his time on the sidelines following a series of hamstring strains and setbacks. Known for his special talent and instincts around goal, it was no surprise when Rankine debuted against the Demons in Round 6 that he set the footy world alight. Rankine kicked three goals in his debut game – including after a sidestep and a snap from the boundary – and earned himself the Rising Star nod. This season, Rankine has averaged 11.5 disposals (above average), 7.5 kicks (above average) and kicked 12 goals in his 12 games.

Max King

The twin brother of Gold Coast’s Ben King, St Kilda’s Max King also had to bide his time on the sidelines in his first year on the Saints’ list. Recovering from an ACL injury from his under-18 days and then another knee injury during his first year, the No. 4 pick from the 2018 Draft did not make his debut until Round 1 this year. King has demonstrated his aerial marking ability and athleticism across his 16 games, kicking 20 goals and averaging 2.9 marks. With a full season under his belt, Saints fans have plenty to look forward to from their new No. 12.

Third (or fourth) time’s a charm:

In their final eligible seasons, Essendon’s Andrew McGrath was selected for the fourth time (2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020) while Carlton’s Jacob Weitering was selected for the third time (2016, 2019 and 2020).


Remarkably, 15 first-timers graced the 22Under22 team in 2020 (Jack Lukosius, Jordan Ridley, Hunter Clark, Noah Balta, Liam Baker, Zak Butters, Gryan Miers, Izak Rankine, Max King, Josh Daicos, Bailey Smith, Nick Coffield, Andrew Brayshaw, Adam Cerra and Ben King).