Fans Partnerships

22Under22 — A Brief History

The AFL Players’ Association has unveiled the 2017 22Under22 squad, which honours some of the game’s most exciting young talent.

During the lead-up to the first team being announced in 2013, a retrospective side from the 2012 season was selected.

That team included the likes of reigning MVP Patrick Dangerfield (who was named captain), Dyson Heppell, Dustin Martin and Alex Rance.

The selection process

In order for the team to be constructed the AFL Players’ Board must first decide on a 40-man squad with players aged 22 or younger at the conclusion of the season (including finals) eligible for a nomination.

Following the announcement of the squad, the decision then comes down to a vote from the fans with supporters heading to in order to cast their vote.

Originally the team was put together on the basis of polls ran by the AFLPA on social media sites Facebook and Twitter.

Voting for the 2017 team will close on Wednesday, September 6 with the side to be revealed on Tuesday, September 12 at the AFLPA MVP Awards Night.

Players to have been selected on three occasions

  • Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)
  • Brandon Ellis (Richmond)
  • Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide)

*If Marcus Bontempelli is selected this year he will be the first player to be selected on four occasions and he is eligible for selection again next season.

Players to have been selected twice

Daniel Talia (Adelaide), Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood), Jake Carlisle (St Kilda), Trent McKenzie (Gold Coast), Dyson Heppell (Essendon), Jack Darling (West Coast), Jeremy Cameron (GWS), Tom Liberatore (Western Bulldogs), Dion Prestia (Richmond), Tom Langdon (Collingwood), Kade Kolodjashnij (Gold Coast), Luke Parker (Sydney), Adam Treloar (Collingwood), Jake Lever (Adelaide), Patrick Cripps (Carlton), Rory Laird (Adelaide), Jake Stringer (Western Bulldogs), Jesse Hogan (Melbourne), Brodie Grundy (Collingwood), Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide)

Some key stats from over the journey

  • Gold Coast have had the most representatives in any one side with six selections in the inaugural team at the end of the 2013 season. Those selected included Harley Bennell (now at Fremantle), Kade Kolodjashnij, Steven May, Trent McKenzie, Dion Prestia (now at Richmond) and David Swallow
  • Dyson Heppell was named captain of the side in the first two seasons in 2013 and 2014. While Bulldogs’ duo Jake Stringer and Marcus Bontempelli have been named captain in the previous two seasons.


2016 22under22 team

2015 22under22 team

2014 22under22 team

2013 22under22 team

2012 22under22 team