Default Fans

22Under22 – Forwards Unveiled!


Which midfielders will make the 22Under22 squad? Be sure to check on Tuesday to find out.  22Under22 voting opens this Wednesday, 26th August at 9:00am.

They’re the stars of the show and there’s no shortage of impressive forwards in contention for this year’s 22Under22 team.

From key position to half-forward types, 2015 saw the next generation of elite goal-kickers emerge, with some already establishing their position as the League’s most exciting talents, and a handful being rewarded for their efforts with selection in the 22Under22 47-man squad.

Scroll down to see the list of forwards selected in this year’s 22Under22 squad

Launched in 2013 as a means of recognising the game’s young stars, many of which fly under the radar in their first few seasons, the 22Under22 squad is selected by the Players’ Association Board with the final 22 chosen by the fans.

Currently second in the Coleman Medal, Jeremy Cameron – who gained 22under22 selection at full forward in the inaugural team in 2012 – has already commanded attention as one of the game’s most exciting players, but 2015 saw him joined by fellow tall-forward and teammate Cam McCarthy in what will be a scary force for opposition defenders in the next decade.

Devon Smith worked at their feet and ventured further up-field as the Giants rose into finals contenders for the first time in their short history.

In a similar position is Sydney’s Luke Parker who, before injury curtailed his season, was backing up his best and fairest-winning 2014 with what could be a second consecutive 22Under22 selection.

Launching himself into the fray in 2015 is Western Bulldog Jake Stringer. One of the more dynamic medium-sized forwards in the game, Stringer has added a layer of consistency to his game-breaking capabilities around goals.

But rivalling Stringer’s feats is Port Adelaide’s Chad Wingard, who has booted three or more majors in ten of his last 11 outings. In rare 22Under22 company, Wingard is one of only two players shooting for their third straight selection, having made the representative side since its inception in 2013.

Speedster Lewis Taylor increased his numbers after his Rising Star winning season, while Adelaide’s Charlie Cameron announced himself as the second-coming of teammate Eddie Betts.

Geelong’s Cory Gregson makes the selection process even tougher, after coming from pick 47 in the 2014 draft to cementing a spot in the Cats’ forward-line in less than 12 months.

Though the Bombers have had an indifferent season, their forward line is safe for the next decade with the likes of Joe Daniher and Zach Merrett nipping around the forward half. Daniher’s goal-kicking has improved in 2015, while Merrett has moved further afield, lifting his average possession count from 15 to 22 and fast becoming one of the AFL’s best tacklers in his two years at AFL level.

Towering talls feature heavily in this year’s squad, with Ben Brown helping North Melbourne recover from a shaky start to surge into finals contention this season, culminating in his selection in 2015’s youth squad.

For the second consecutive season, Gold Coast’s Tom Lynch has hit the 40-goal mark, kicking 19 majors in his last five weeks and standing in as the club’s captain in the absence of Gary Ablett and Michael Rischitelli. The 199cm Sun has become of the club’s most important players in 2015 and is also currently ranked second for contested marks for the year.

Third on that list is Melbourne’s Jesse Hogan, who many are tipping to win this year’s Rising Star award. In his debut season, Hogan has had rare success as the Demons’ main target up forward, pulling down 43 contested marks, booting 39 majors, and living up to the hype placed upon him since making it into the AFL system at the end of 2012.

There’s no doubt the forwards selected in this year’s 22Under22 squad will be household names of tomorrow, and are well on their ways to becoming the next Matthew Pavlich or Steve Johnson.

Which midfielders will make the 22Under22 squad? Be sure to check on Tuesday to find out.  22Under22 voting opens this Wednesday, 26th August at 9:00am.