Fans Partnerships

AFLW star joins AFLPA Board

AFLW star and Melbourne captain Daisy Pearce has been elected to the AFLPA Board, becoming the first female Director in the Association’s 43-year history.

Pearce was voted onto the Board at Tuesday night’s Annual General Meeting, alongside Collingwood captain Scott Pendlebury, GWS Giants co-captain Phil Davis, Western Bulldogs premiership player Easton Wood and Carlton star Sam Docherty.

Pearce says it’s an honour to be the first female on the AFLPA Board and to represent the views of the female members alongside the 16 AFLW Delegates.

“The AFLPA did an amazing job to lay strong foundations for player rights ahead of the inaugural AFLW season and having a female representative on the Board underlines the ‘PA’s commitment to equality and continuous improvement for female players,” Pearce told

“I’m looking forward to providing strong leadership and representation for the female playing group and working with my fellow Board members to ensure the players’ voice is heard.”

Existing members voted at the AGM to amend the AFLPA Constitution to recognise AFLW players as full members of the Association with voting rights and to mandate the inclusion of at least one AFLW player on the Board.

A further change to the AFLPA Constitution will allow the inclusion of up to two positions on the Board for independent, non-player, directors. These positions are yet to be filled.


AFL Players’ Association CEO Paul Marsh congratulated the new Board members on their selection and described Pearce’s appointment as a landmark moment in the ‘PA’s history.

“Once we welcomed female members into the Association it made complete sense to introduce an AFLW player onto the Board. We’re delighted that a person of Daisy’s calibre has put her hand up and been voted in by the members,” Marsh told

“The business of football is becoming more and more complex, and as we and the industry grows we need diversity and a greater breadth of skills on the board.

“I look forward to working closely with all board members, new and existing, during what is a very important time for both the AFL and AFLW playing groups.”

Marsh also thanked outgoing Board members Will Minson, Jimmy Bartel, Chris Dawes, Drew Petrie, Ted Richards and past player representative Murray Browne for their leadership and commitment to the AFL Players’ Association over the years.

“All six of our departing Board members are to be commended for their outstanding efforts in constantly improving conditions for AFL footballers over the years.

“All of our players owe their six leaders a huge amount of gratitude for the jobs they’ve done whilst on the AFLPA Board.”

In accordance with the Constitution, the office of President and also Vice-President are determined by the Board and, as is customary, will be considered at the Board’s next meeting.

Matthew Pavlich will remain President of the Board until this point, and ongoing if re-elected.

Current AFL Players’ Association Board

  • Paul Marsh
  • Matthew Pavlich (President)
  • Leigh Montagna
  • Patrick Dangerfield
  • Rory Sloane
  • Daisy Pearce
  • Scott Pendlebury
  • Sam Docherty
  • Phil Davis
  • Easton Wood

The AFLPA also released its 2016 Annual Report and Financial Report to coincide with the AGM.