Default Fans

Bob Murphy named Best Captain at AFLPA MVP Awards

This article was originally published after Western Bulldogs skipper Robert Murphy was named Best Cpatain by his peers in September, 2015. 

Western Bulldogs skipper Bob Murphy’s remarkable season has been acknowledged by the wider AFL playing group, with the players voting Murphy the Best Captain of 2015.

Murphy was present at the AFL Players’ MVP Awards to accept the Best Captain award, presented by L’Oreal Men Expert, describing the accolade as “a great honour.”

The 33-year-old becomes just the fourth player to receive the Best Captain award in his first season as skipper, joining Michael Tuck (1986), Stephen Kernahan (1987) and Jonathan Brown (2007).

The top five
1. Bob Murphy (226)
2. Luke Hodge (144)
3. Taylor Walker (94)
4. Shannon Hurn (42)
5. Nick Riewoldt (37)

Murphy was appointed captain in November, 2014 – following then-skipper Ryan Griffen’s defection to Greater Western Sydney – and has had arguably the best season of his career.

The 292-gamer has embodied the daring game-style that’s seen the Bulldogs to return to finals for the first time since 2010, leading his side for rebound 50s, running bounces and kicks, while also boasting an impressive 79.8 per cent disposal efficiency throughout the home and away season. Murphy has also averaged a career-high 22 disposals throughout 2015.

Murphy was a clear winner of the Best Captain award, finishing ahead of 2014 winner Luke Hodge and first-year Adelaide skipper Taylor Walker.

Earlier this season, Murphy told Fox Footy’s AFL 360 he felt the current Bulldogs outfit was “the team (he) was meant to play in.”

“Being the main man was not something that really interested me until the last few months, and then I felt like I had to do it. And I’ve relished it – I’ve loved it.

“I’ve played under some of the great captains in our club’s history and to be part of that lineage is something really special.”

AFL 2015 Second Elimination Final - Western Bulldogs v Adelaide

Previous Winners

Michael Tuck (1986)
Stephen Kernahan (1987)
Ross Glendenning (1988)
Tony Shaw (1990)
Paul Roos (1992)
Stephen Kernahan (1994)
Wayne Carey (1995, 1998, 2000)
Paul Kelly (1999)
Michael Voss (2001, 2002, 2003, 2004)
Mark Ricciuto (2005, 2006)
Jonathan Brown (2007, 2009)
Tom Harley (2008)
Brett Kirk (2010)
Chris Judd (2011)
Jobe Watson (2012)
Joel Selwood (2013
Luke Hodge (2014)