Fans Partnerships

Lions, Suns, Blues MVP nominees

Carlton, Gold Coast and Brisbane are the first three clubs to reveal their AFL Players’ Association MVP Award nominees for 2017, ahead of the awards on Tuesday, September 12.

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner. Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.

Alongside the Most Courageous and Best First Year award nominees, which were unveiled last week, the Blues, Suns and Lions’ playing group have nominated the three players they believe are their most valuable.


MVP: Sam Docherty, Matthew Kreuzer, Marc Murphy

Most Courageous: Matthew Kreuzer

Best First Year: Sam Petrevski-Seton

Captain: Marc Murphy

Gold Coast

MVP: Gary Ablett, Jarryd Lyons, Jarrod Witts

Most Courageous: David Swallow

Best First Year: Ben Ainsworth

Captain: Steven May, Tom Lynch


MVP: Dayne Beams, Tom Rockliff, Dayne Zorko

Most Courageous: Darcy Gardiner

Best First Year: Alex Witherden

Captain: Dayne Beams

Stay tuned tomorrow for North Melbourne, Fremantle, Collingwood and Hawthorn’s MVP nominees.