Default Fans

MVP Candidates shortlisted

The race to decide who is the AFL’s Most Valuable Player, as judged by their peers is nearing completion with the announcement of the nominees for the 2014 AFL Players’ MVP Award.

“In any industry, you want the respect of your peers. AFL footballers are no different” – Luke Ball

This year’s list of nominees contains superstars including Gary Ablett Jnr, Nat Fyfe, Josh Kennedy, ‘Buddy’ Franklin, Joel Selwood and Patrick Dangerfield. Previous winners of the MVP include Gary Ablett Jnr, who will be in contention for a record sixth award, Chris Judd, Dane Swan and Nick Riewoldt.Now in its 32nd year, the MVP award was created and led by the Players’ Association, providing players with a voice on who they determined to the best player in a season.

The winner of the AFL industry’s foremost peer-determined award for 2014, the Leigh Matthews Trophy, will be announced next Tuesday 9 September at Peninsula, Docklands in Melbourne and will be broadcast exclusively live on Fox Footy at 8.30pm.

Read about Adelaide, Brisbane and Carlton’s nominees here.

According to AFL Players’ CEO Paul Marsh, the MVP award is more important than ever.

“It’s really important the players themselves have a voice. Previous winners have shown it is an award than can be won by a player in any position. From power forwards like Ablett Snr, Lockett and Carey, to ruckmen including the great Jim Stynes, through to the brilliant Leigh Matthews, whom the award is named after.

“We often hear players who have won the award claim it to be their highest individual achievement.”

AFL Players’ Association President Luke Ball said while the award continues to grow in stature publicly, it has always been considered one of the highest honours in the game amongst the playing group. “In any industry, you want the respect of your peers. AFL footballers are no different, and as a player you strive for the respect of those you play against each week. “The Leigh Matthews Trophy is a great way for players to recognise the efforts of those outside their own club.

“The names that feature on the Leigh Matthews’ Trophy represent the very elite of the past 31 years, so to have your name etched alongside players you have grown up idolising, such as Wayne Carey, Robert Harvey, Shane Crawford, Gary Ablett Snr, Tony Lockett and Paul Roos would be an incredible honour for any player.” Other awards to be presented at the MVP Awards include:

  • The Robert Rose Most Courageous Award, presented by Cancer Council Victoria
  • Best Captain, presented by L’Oreal Men Expert
  • Best First Year Player
  • Education and Training Excellence Award, presented by La Trobe Sport


The MVP voting is a two stage process, beginning with each player voting for the three teammates he considers to have been the most valuable this season. Each club’s votes are then tallied to form a nomination list comprising 54 players across the 18 teams.

Then, in the second round of voting, all AFL players vote for their MVP on a 3, 2, 1 basis from the nominees of the 17 other clubs. The votes are tallied, and the player with the highest score wins the honour of MVP.

The 2014 AFL Players’ MVP Award winners will be announced on Tuesday 9th September at Peninsula, Shed 14 Central Pier, Docklands and will be broadcast exclusively live on Fox Footy at 8.30pm.

In the lead-up to the MVP, will take a look through each club’s nominees. Read about Adelaide, Brisbane and Carlton’s nominees here.