Fans Players

2020 AFLW MVP Awards – as they happened

The 2020 AFLW MVP awards were announced on the AFL Players’ Association’s website and associated channels via a special digital roll out on Monday. The inaugural 22under22 team was announced at 10am, followed by Best First-Year player (presented by KPMG Australia) at 1pm, followed by Best Captain (presented by the Diamond Guys) at 2pm, Most Courageous (presented by MSC Signs) at 3pm and the Most Valuable Player award (presented by Our Watch) at 4pm. Keep an eye on and our Twitter and Instagram for all the award winners!

10am: Inaugural AFLW 22under22

1pm: Best first-year player

Congratulations to St Kilda AFLW young star, Georgia Patrikios, on being voted as the best first-year player by her peers.

Patrikios was the clear standout to win the award from the AFLW cohort, with a convincing number of votes.

Georgia Patrikios, St Kilda – 173

Grace Egan, Carlton – 89

Catherine Svarc, Brisbane – 26

2pm: best captain


Daisy Pearce has been voted as best captain for the third time! All she had to do was win the award after a year out of the game after giving birth to twins Sylvie and Roy!

Daisy took out the award ahead of Collingwood’s Stephanie Chiocci.

Daisy Pearce, Melbourne – 69

Stephanie Chiocci, Collingwood – 44

Alicia Eva, GWS – 42

3pm: Most courageous

Adelaide co-captain Chelsea Randall has been a dominant force when it comes to the Most Courageous award. But a season-ending knee injury meant she has handed over the title to Fremantle star Kiara Bowers and she couldn’t be happier to pass it on.

Bowers just beat out Carlton’s Katie Loynes for the award.

Kiara Bowers, Fremantle – 76

Katie Loynes, Carlton – 73

Isabel Huntington, Western Bulldogs – 64

4pm: Most valuable player

A massive congratulations to 2020 AFLW MVP award winner Jasmine Garner! After being named as a forward in last year’s AFLW All Australian team, Garner stepped into the midfield this season and was damaging in just about every game she played.

Jasmine Garner, North Melbourne – 413 votes

Madison Prespakis, Carlton – 227

Jaimee Lambert, Collingwood – 201

For a full recap of the awards, head to for all the details!