Alumni Players

Madden Medal: Jarrad McVeigh

The Madden Medal, presented by The Diamond Guys, is named after brothers Simon and Justin Madden, and is awarded annually to the retiring player who has best demonstrated on-field excellence, personal development and growth, as well as community spirit over the course of their playing career. The winner will be announced at the AFL Players’ Association Season Celebration on Thursday, March 12.

The Sydney Swans selected Jarrad McVeigh with their first pick, number five overall, at the 2002 AFL Draft, and he made his senior debut in Round 1, 2004. He retired 17 years later as a premiership player and a veteran of 325 AFL games – placing him equal-second for games played in Sydney Swans history.

McVeigh’s decorated career includes the 2012 AFL Premiership, two Club Champion medals (2008, 2013), Sydney’s 2013 Players’ Player award and the Swans’ 2014 Best Clubman honour. He also co-captained the Swans in the years spanning 2011-2016, while he was presented an All Australian blazer in 2013. In 2019, McVeigh was selected in the NSW Greatest Team of All Time, placing him alongside Haydn Bunton, Wayne Carey, Paul Kelly and a host of other esteemed names.

An outstanding endurance runner, an elite user of the footy and a footballer with immense courage, McVeigh became one of the most revered midfielders in the league. The Sydney great essentially played as an on-field coach in defence during the twilight years of his career, orchestrating the Swans’ set-up behind the ball and helping drive the side’s ball movement out of defence.

McVeigh’s career ended in glorious fashion when he joined fellow retiring greats Kieren Jack, Heath Grundy and Nick Smith in farewelling the game in Round 23, 2019, on the same day that star forward Lance Franklin celebrated his 300th AFL match. Sydney marked the SCG clash with a magical 45-point win over St Kilda.

Away from footy, McVeigh completed his Certificate III and IV in Sports Development with AFL SportsReady in 2007, completed the Next Coach Program in 2016 and was active in his support of all Team Swans community engagements. McVeigh is now a member of Sydney’s coaching panel, having teamed up with Tadhg Kennelly to develop and guide the midfield.


  • 325 AFL Games
  • Sydney Swans Premiership Captain (2012)
  • All-Australian Team (2013)
  • Sydney Swans Captain (2011 – 2016)
  • Bob Skilton Club Champion Medallist (2008 & 2013)
  • Sydney Swans Best Clubman (2014)
  • Sydney Swans Players Player (2013)
  • Sydney Swans Best First Year Player (2006)
  • NSW’s Greatest Team of All Time Selection (2019)


  • Cert III and IV Sports Development – SportsReady (2006 & 2007)


  • Active in the support for all Team Swans community engagements


  • Sydney captain: 2011-16